1st The Queen’s Dragoon Guards (The Welsh Cavalry) by former Sergeant Steve Scott from Chepstow. The Q.D.G

Please, please, please read this and put it on your status or Twitter this link to your local MP.

Many thanks.

1st The Queen’s Dragoon Guards (The Welsh Cavalry) by former Sergeant Steve Scott from Chepstow.
The Q.D.G

Don’t do this to Wales even though times are hard,
Don’t abolish our future and past,
For i was once a Queens Dragoon Guard,
I wasn’t the first or the last.

I came from the Valleys, from a dark colliery,
I toiled amidst danger and dust, 
but I chose to enlist in the Welsh Cavalry,
with comrades I could serve with and trust.

I came from the seaports of Haverford West,
from Fishguard, Swansea and Rhyl.
I came to join “the first and the best”,
from the Steelworks, the factory, the mill.

I came from the towns and cities of Wales,
From the Borders I answered the call,
I came from the mountains, the forests and vales,
from Barry, Tenby, Porthcawl.

My name was Edwards, Williams or just Taff,
Davies or Jones 198,
but to those who I drank with or shared a good laugh,
i was known as just “Butty” or mate.

I bled in Ulster, I suffered in Iraq,
I died in Afghanistan.
Wherever the conflict I never stepped back,
I faced it and stood like a man.

I’m a father a son, a gran’ pappy now,
and perhaps not the greatest of bards,
but to those in power, give Wales your vow,
not to disband The Queens Dragoon Guards.

3 thoughts on “1st The Queen’s Dragoon Guards (The Welsh Cavalry) by former Sergeant Steve Scott from Chepstow. The Q.D.G

Leave a Reply

